Organisation. A beekeeping must. 

Following on from storm Doris I really felt I had better check the bees this morning.

I was up bright and early and started at my own hives.

I have three hives on a farm just up the road. They are a fair way off the lane but today I was able to drive most of the way down the farm track. The hives were upright and bees from each of the end hives were happily coming and going. The middle hive was surprisingly quiet and a quick look showed dead bees gathered behind the mouseguard on the front. I had a look under the roof and there seems to be a lot of dead bees in there too. I’m thinking that for the first time in my 10 bee keeping years I have lost a hive. Not a nice feeling and nothing I can do until it warms up a bit for a proper check.

I then made a quick visit to a bee keeper who lives close by to share the pain before heading to my next apiary. I was almost there when I realised I’d forgotten the keys to the gate. I pulled into a garage to turn around. Pondered on the situation for a minute, I’m a long way from home, I might not feel like coming out again if I go back, I’ll waste a good hour, then I carried on my journey. I rather hoped the farmer might be working and have the gate open.

These are the hives. It’s an idilic situation in the summer. Miles from the main road across the fields. Surrounded by nothing by nature. Unfortunately it is miles

This is the field I walk down from the farm track. The bees are at the bottom behind the trees. In the summer I park here although my bee buddy could drive his car down there but then he was braver than me!

The barn in the distance is where I have been having to park my car all winter as the track is to muddy to dare driving down.

Today as an unorganised bee keeper I had to not only walk that journey but I had to park on the main lane which is probably where the hazy trees are in the far distance. So I walked twice that distance and some.

These pictures were taken last time I visited because not only did I forget my keys but I also forgot my phone. Miles from anywhere, on my own, no one to hear my screams should I have fallen in a ditch.

Lessons will be learned but at least there was no one to witness my stupidity. My secret is safe!

2 thoughts on “Organisation. A beekeeping must. 

  1. Thank you. It goes with the territory I’m afraid and you never know I might find a small huddle of live ones deep in the middle of the box come spring. Bee keeping is like gardening, you can’t totally control nature and that’s why it’s so much fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

