Bush crafts.

image

As home edders Miss C and I are used to travelling around the county for learning opportunities. When one of the other mums heard about a local site that offered bush craft classes and asked if anyone else was interested we were straight in.

Miss C loves hands on learning. It’s local and we both love being outdoors. It sounded the perfect event. So far it has not let us down.

image

We meet in a copse of trees under this great parachute style cover around a log fire. We have to park some distance away and walk through a touring park with pretty hedged pitches, off a quiet country lane. The sun has shone each time so far. Sounds idyllic? It really is.

image

This week the theme was shelter and fire. The kids were each asked to bring a cuddley toy and then shown how to make a shelter in small scale. This was Miss C’s design. I had been relegated to collecting the sticks by this time as I kept collapsing it whenever I touched it.

image

She covered it with rather a lot of leaves and thatch. Actually this is a good thing, as apparently the thicker it is the more likely to stay dry you are. I got a pre teens knowing look at this point as I had only minutes earlier urged caution on the amount being piled on top.

image

Here’s my teddy sitting in his partially built home. Miss C didn’t want to bring her own bear. A, it’s not cool to admit you still have teddies at her age apparently and B, she didn’t want to get hers dirty! I didn’t know I owned this one, I’ve no idea where it came from but she found it sitting in the charity pile of toys I want to give away and she won’t yet let me. He was small enough to make den building a bit easier and cool enough to make Miss C smile.

image

All of the other dens were just as good and all their owners were pleased for me to show them off.

image

image

This one was my friends sons. He comes with us each time and is a dab hand at it all. He made it across the ditch which wouldn’t be good from a survival point but had all the little boys very impressed. I couldn’t even get them out for a picture!!

image

Another friend brings 4 adorable little girls in pink leggings. They each made a free standing home for their rather trendy dolls. The three year old seemed to have the same problems I had, every time she added a stick the whole thing collapsed. No none tutted at her and muttered ‘doh, just leave it alone and fetch sticks. You’re just to heavy for this’
Was it mean to wonder if the mushrooms are poisonous?!

image

Leave a Reply

