Autumn’s glories.

Autumn. Can you believe the year is going so quickly! It’s glorious here at the moment. The mornings are cool and fresh, the days are hot and sunny and the evenings are warm enough to sit outside long after the darkness falls. We played Rumikub by torchlight last night. Such fun!

image

This is the sun breaking through the clouds from my back doorstep this morning. I’ve been up with the lark, as I usually am, but it’s not often I pick 17lb of tomatoes before hubby has even left for work.

image

There’s a lot of tomatoes in my life at the minute.

image

I pick them, wash them, chop them and cook them and then start again.

image

The slow cooker has earned it’s keep cooking them down into sauce for the freezer. I borrowed a dehydrator to dry them (although that was a mouldy disaster!). I’ve pureed and sieved them to make then thicker. We’ve eaten salads until we are tired of them. But even for all that I’m still going to try to do it all again next year. Free food is just so satisfying.

image

Raspberries have been coming  thick and fast. If we don’t pick every day they go over on the bush.

image

There’s a solitary pumpkin hiding in the leaves.

image

The only butternut squash worth shouting about is romping across the patio. There are others but they are single person servings at the moment, it’s not looking good!

image

image

Sunflowers and cosmos continue to earn their keep.

image

image

Clematis have gone to lovely fluffy seed heads while the wonderful purple leaved malus, that looks so good with a bright pink perpetual sweet pea crawling through it, now looks tired and sickly as it’s leaves drop.

image

There’s still tomatoes in the poly tunnel

image

There’s cucumbers a plenty as well. These ones hit you on the side of the head. I know they are there, I try to avoid them, but at some point on one of my visits I manage to crack myself on the ear everyday. I could cut them but where’s the fun in that. And anyway, there are others bigger to eat first!

image

image

My most amazing achievement is the melons. They were late in and I never expected much, but there are 6 fruit swelling at great speed. If I get one ripe juicy fruit my summer will be complete!

image

Did I mention the outdoor cherry tomatoes lined up in pots all along the top of the water butt? The fruit from them runs into three figures. I had a niece to stay last week who ate a bowl full every day and took lots home with her. She can come again!

I think tomatoes are my  summer success. The freezer is groaning but I’m off now to pick apples. My friend says she has hundreds and I can take my pick. The dehydrator will get a second chance. I never look a gift horse in the mouth!!

2 thoughts on “Autumn’s glories.

Leave a Reply

