Harvesting the sweetcorn.

image

I’ve been popping corns from the cob for the last week to see if it was ready for picking. Unfortunately I hadn’t read the instructions properly. I was waiting for the juices to be clear until Gardeners World told me it should be milky. Well mine have been milky for ages so that must mean they were ready.

image

image

The plants were looking a bit tatty and the base of some of the cobs was actually a bit mouldy when I looked closer.

image

Pulled  and twisted they came away quite easily. I had 19 plants and coincidentally got 19 cobs, although some didn’t have any and some had two.

Now I could fib a bit here but if I’m truthful some of the cobs were less
than perfect.

image

But on the whole I’m proud of my first growing efforts.

image

Next year I will tap them harder for better pollination and water them more.

image

This year I will just eat them quickly as I’ve now run out of space in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

