Peaceful easy feeling.

It’s a lovely day here and as it’s my wedding anniversary I decided to treat myself to a day of pottering.

image

Hubby brought me these two great signs for the garden

image

They put me in the mood to start out there.

image

image

The brassicas bed is embarrassingly bad so it’s time to go. I pulled up these cauliflowers and the kale. Both are planted to close and eaten alive by bugs. They went into the compost as I have discovered even chickens don’t eat kale.
I did however save a few of the cabbages. We had one the other night, which was lovely, so I decided to strike while the iron was hot and get them all out.

image

image

I brought them into the kitchen and chopped off all the outer leaves. There was only 4 of any worth but all were quite big so I was ruthless with throwing out everything that didn’t take my fancy.
I should add here that I don’t really eat cabbage but as hubby and Miss C love it it seemed churlish to not at least try to harvest something.

image

image

I chopped it up and picked it over   
thoroughly and then gave it a really good wash.

image

Once drained I blanched it for 3 minutes in my jam saucepan. Dunked it is cold water and plonked it in the freezer. It was a great idea to open freeze it on this tray, it would have been a better idea to check the tray fitted in the freezer first!

image

By the time I realised the timer was bleeping to say the next lot was blanched, there was water everywhere and I was slightly flustered. I blame the sunshine/cooking heat, not my lack of organisation, for that.

image

I threw it in bags and froze them flat. If I remember I might break it up and  unite it into one bag once solid.

I was on a roll by now so I went back out and picked the last of the blackcurrants. I pruned the bush as I went so that’s two more jobs done. The currants went in the freezer, the bushes look much better.

image

image

I’ve pruned them hard but I do it every year and although I always panic in the spring, that they don’t have enough growth. I always seem to get a good crop from them. I shall sprinkle some feed around them, give them a good soak and then mulch with last year’s compost later this evening.

I decided it was time for lunch and a well earned catch up with technology.
Perhaps I should bake hubby a cake. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

