Natures bounty.

image

Moneymaker and beefsteak tomatoes are doing great in the poly tunnel.

image

The cucumbers have grown every time I visit the tunnel. With lots of tiny fruit coming

image

The melons are doing their best but if they come to anything I will be more than amazed.

image

Outside the fig and blueberries have far to much new growth. Probably because they are newly potted.

image

The fig needs a post I’m guessing but the book doesn’t mention them needing support. I think it is just so wet and warm it has over grown. I’m debating cutting it back in the hope it will branch out and thicken up a bit.

image

The blueberry is difficult to see here but the shoots are so long they keep breaking in the wind and it is getting very top heavy. I am going to build a frame around it to hold in the branches. Let’s hope this toughens up the branches to support themselves.

image

Sweet corn cobs are swelling.

image

The first mange tout have finished but the later sowing is cropping brilliantly. Miss C eats them straight from the plant and I’ve been throwing them into stir fries and anything else I can get away with. I still have bags full in the freezer. Definitely one to grow again.

image

image

Cabbages and parsnips are swelling nicely. The nets would have protected them better but there’s not to much damage yet.

image

The same can’t be said for the cauliflowers. They are just embarrassing. I will say nothing more!

image

Leeks are worth a mention. Looking good in their drainpipes.

image

The borlotto bean looks good. Unfortunately once cooked it went a boring green. I’m going to leave the rest for drying.

image

I took the tops off the blackcurrant and now they are ripening nicely. It was a bit touch and go for a while. The top growth was covering everything previously.

image

Finally the hydrangea. It’s taken a few years but I have actually managed to grow a blue one. Just got to keep it growing now!

2 thoughts on “Natures bounty.

Leave a Reply

