Botanical garden goodness.

The bee buddy needed a day visit to hospital this  week. Knowing he would be some time, and as it was such a long way away, I used everyone’s favourite search engine to find something to spend a few hours doing in Leicester. I started at one of our well known supermarkets and was able to double my vouchers for a basically free vacuum cleaner( after a week without one that was a really good ‘ buy’). I then spent a happy hour drinking a very large mug of cappuccino and eating an only slightly dry scone and jam while reading the instore magazine.

I then plugged in the sat nav and headed for Leicesters Botanical Gardens. What a good decision. I parked along a road lined with houses I could only dream of owning and walked into a little patch of paradise.

image

image

I started with a swift walk around the perimeter of the site just to see what was there and then I just ambled.

image

image

image

I sat on a bench and read my reading group book (Elly Griffiths, The Outcast) for a while with this view

image

Then I wandered some more and admired the herbaceous borders

image

image

They will look so much better in full
flower but I love the tidy organisation of spring borders and my favourite plants were showing great promise

image

image

image

I just love hostas!

image

I also love rope arches, although I am only slightly keen on roses but they do look good here.

image

Peonies,

image

Wisteria,

image

Osteospermums

image

Box borders in sunken gardens. This place has all my favourite things. It also has over 100 varieties of hardy fuchsias. A late summer visit will be needed I feel!

image

image

image

image

image

image

Lots of trees. Shrubs and ponds

image

image

image

Right in the middle there’s a warm temperate and tropical house with more great plants

image

image

image

I rang the hospital to find out how The Buddy was doing only to be told he would not be out until much later than I expected but was doing well. Great news! More time to go round all over again.

image

image

To admire the sculptures. I think this one is more like a pile of fallen scaffold, but then everyone’s a critic!

image

Strange homemade bee hotels hanging in the trees.

image

Trees every little boy would love to climb.

image

image

Border edging envy anyone??

I spent 4 hours here in total. It was the best way imaginable to take the mind off worrying.

The Buddy was looking much better than expected when I collected him. It’s going to be a long journey but if anyone can do it he can.

Leave a Reply

