April showers

image

Rain seems to play a large part in most of my posts, so it will be no surprise when I say it is pouring here today. However we have actually had some lovely weather recently so just to remind myself I am including lots of pictures I have taken this week.

image

image

image

There are hundreds of primroses, polyanthus and cowslips in my garden. They all inter pollinate and make strange colour combinations. Sometimes I dig them up, split them and move them around but mostly I just leave them be.

image

image

image

image

Tulips are just coming into flower. Flowering currant and daffodils are still flowering and just this week we have 2 white Christmas roses flowering for the first time ever. Definitely better late than never!

image

image

Some of the beds are overfull and should probably be contained but although I keep digging out this bluebell, that is ruining the shape of my box balls, it is so deep I never get it all and back it comes.

image

This was a huge lavender that I cut down after flowering last summer. It started shooting straight away but I didn’t expect it to survive the winter. It’s looking OK so far though, so it gets a reprieve for now.

image

The Rosemary’s reprieve only lasts until the flowers finish then it gets chopped right down. It is getting to woody to be useful as a herb now.

image

image

image

image

The seedlings have all gone crazy and space is running out.

image

image

Potatoes are doing well in their bags outside so in went the lettuces, interspersed with radish, carrot and parsnips. Hopefully they will be ready for pulling by the time the root crops need the space.

image

image

The strawberries have been tidied and fed with blood,fish and bone so just the onion and garlic bed to weed. They have survived the winter under fleece and are thickening nicely.

image

image

image

The chickens have enjoyed the lawns first cut, both in their run and from the compost bin. I do provide clean water but it seems muddy water caught in waste plastic is more tasty. This is a hole Miss C is digging for a pond. Every time she leaves it the girls get in and dig away causing the sides to collapse and half fill it again. They are all having a great time!

Leave a Reply

