A promise of spring to come.

image

A week of good weather has seen me abandon all thought of housework and head onto the garden. It’s half term week and Miss C has been catching up with school friends by spending 3 days at the farm riding and doing horsey things. She takes lunch and only returns as dusk falls. Hours and hours to dig borders and move plants.

image

Day 1 saw me attack the ivy growing up the patio wall.

image

It was overgrown and hanging to the ground when I started

image

Scalped when I’d finished. But it will soon recover. (I hope!)

image

The chickens sunbathed and generally messed up all the nice tidy borders. Hunting for goodies in the compost covering I put down everywhere.

Day 2 saw me moving the raspberry canes. I brought them cheaply 2 years ago and as they looked half dead I planted them into a raised bed with not much hope of great things. Last autumn they took over and I had lots of juicy berries.

image

I intended putting 2 short rows in and now have 4 and a few randomly planted in other places.

image

I can never throw anything out, but as I put them in the chickens end of the garden I guess they will have fun jumping up to get the berries later on.

image

I planted 3 very small fruit trees that hubby brought home from town. They were £7 each so I guess you can’t expect perfection. I do expect apples though!!!!

image

This is Gertie who spent the whole afternoon jumping up at my coat and hanging from the toggles. Cute but quite annoying at times. Love her!

Today has been spent cutting back more ivy and cleaning out the chicken coop.

image

image

I was impressed by this gorgeous little nest.

image

Snowdrops

image

Lots and lots of snowdrops. The forecast is for some rain tomorrow so that will water everything in and leave me with no excuse not to catch up on the ironing. Such fun!

Leave a Reply

